What Light by Jay Asher

light

Reviewed by Melissa Beck (Library Staff)

I picked this book up because, like many people, I have a soft spot for stories wrapped up in the cheer of the holiday season. However, despite my admittedly low expectations, What Light still managed to disappoint me. It checked off all the requisite boxes for the holiday genre, but ended up being less than the sum of its parts. I confess that I didn’t even see it through to the end because I reached a point where I literally could not have cared less about what happened to the characters. If you are in the mood for a Christmas season romance, check out My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins. Any of those 12 short stories deliver more in 20 pages than this book could in 251.

Located in Teen Fiction (TEEN FIC ASHER)

Leave a Reply

