The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

tidying

Reviewed by Jennifer Rude Klett (Library Staff)

I am not quite sure why this enormously-popular book has received the attention it has. After waiting 9 months on the library’s “hold” list, I finally got to read about “Kondoing” your home. While the author does make a few good points about de-cluttering, I had a hard time with the emphasis on using feelings when sorting through inanimate objects. Her trademark question, “Does this spark joy?” seemed a little strange, especially when evaluating the everyday items which fill our living spaces. To me, joy does not come from things. Plus, I have zero desire to fold my clothing into little rectangles. Marie Kondo would probably be horrified to see my socks are . . . gasp! balled up and not able to “relax” between wears. I guess you can count me in the Peter Walsh camp of organizing gurus as his books made more sense to me. Even so, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up DOES make you motivated to downsize your possessions. Read it and see for yourself.

Located in Adult Nonfiction (648 KON)

Leave a Reply

